Mammalian product free diet
YOU MAY EAT:
Chicken, turkey, duck, quail fish, shellfish, & molluscs.
Raw and cooked lamb, pork, rabbit, kangaroo, beef, ham, goat, buffalo, veal, bacon, & venison.
Avoid all products made from these meats, especially pan juice gravy made from these meats.
Inquire carefully about all ingredients when eating away from home as mammalian meat products may be combined with fish or poultry e.g. chicken cooked in veal stock.
Take care to avoid cross contamination between utensils or cooking surfaces, e.g. at a barbecue (take your own wrapped food), or on a hotplate, grill or wok in a restaurant. Telephone ahead where possible when eating out, to ensure an appropriate meal is provided.
Travel warning: While overseas, you may be offered exotic mammalian meats, cheeses or milks, such as horse, dog, guinea pig, whale.
Foods containing gelatine from animal sources (usually from beef or pork) may give rise to allergic symptoms. If this applies to you, avoid jelly, jelly-type and jube confectionery, thickened gelatine desserts such as mousse, also dairy products e.g. some yoghurts, cheese spread or margarine. Food thickeners free of alpha-gal are seaweed type (400 to 407a), bacterium type (415 and 418) and pectins and fruit (440).
Avoid Products from Mammalian Meats, including organic, halal and kosher sources:
Gravies and sauces, pre-packaged – read labels carefully
Tallow, beef and meat fat, lard, suet, dripping and foods cooked in these e.g. some hot chips
Meat extracts e.g. Bonox, Bovril
Delicatessen meats e.g. Devon, sausages, salami, prosciutto, pate, liverwurst
Soups, soup powder, stock cubes, liquid stocks – check all labels, some will be suitable
‘Flavour’ ingredient in savoury packaged products , if not specified on the label, should be checked with the manufacturer
Rennet, the coagulant in cheese making, made from animal sources, especially likely to be present in some imported cheeses. Rennet of microbial origin is safe to use. Check source if not stated.
Ingredient lists of savoury foods need always to be examined for meat ingredients.
CAUTION: An adequate continuing intake of iron in the diet needs to be assured.
Can mammalian milk be a concern?
Some people who have been diagnosed with mammalian meat allergy also report symptoms following the consumption of milk and/or milk products.
If you have not suspected milk previously, and your symptoms are completely controlled by following the mammalian meat free diet, removing milk and milk products from your diet will not be necessary at this time. Hard cheese e.g. cheddar with microbial rennet is usually tolerated in these circumstances.
Obvious milk foods:
Milk- Cow, sheep, goat, horse, buffalo
Plain, skim, whole, low fat, reduced fat, condensed, evaporated, dried, solids, A2, fat modified.
Cheese, all kinds.
Cream, sour cream.
Whey (liquid from cheese-making)
Casein (a milk protein)
Words beginning with LACT or LACTO
Less obvious Milk foods
Lactose free milk
HA infant formula
Baby rusks and baby foods
Baked goods – biscuits, cakes, pastries, muffins, and other mixes.
Powder flavourings for milk
Crisps and other flavoured snack foods
Creme fraiche, fromage frais
Margarine (most have milk added)
Soy cheese (many have milk casein)
Sauces and soups
Sample Meal Pattern (Food) Choices Which Avoid Mammalian Meat (if milk tolerated)
Fresh fruit and/or dried
Toast or crumpets with butter/margarine
Yeast extract/nut butter/jam
Milk on cereal
Egg, cooked in oil e.g. scrambled with tomato
Fish e.g. sardines, tuna on toast
Cheese on toast
or turkey with salad or cooked vegetables
Any of the above in a multigrain sandwich or roll, wrap, or packed lunchbox, or as a hot lunch
Use foods from previous dinner
Yoghurt or fruit
Grilled, baked or fried fish, use vegetable oil or
Chicken or turkey – grilled, roasted or in a casserole
Legume dish, main or side eg. chickpea salad
Cooked vegetables or salad, all varieties
If you need to avoid milk, use the plant derived milks (Soy, rice, oat, almond) as a drink and in cooking, or as advised.